Meal Planning 101

Have you ever been unorganized? Out of whack or confused? It’s time you got your stuff together. Today I am here to talk to you about meal planning and how I stay organized and how I find my recipes and write my grocery lists down. I hope everyone enjoys this Step by step process on becoming a better organized and great chef!

20140126-220506.jpg

First off I like to write down things onto my grocery list that I already know I need. Such as this week I needed; Bananas, Unsalted Butter and Vanilla Extract. I use an app on the iPhone which also works with the iPad called, Paprika. It cost a little money but you can make an account and type in your grocery’s and it will categorize them for you. You could also write the items down on paper and categorize them on how your grocery store is set up.

Image

Image

The second step to my meal planning process would be going onto Pinterest, looking in my cookbooks or magazines to find recipes. I basically pick and choose things that sounds good and that don’t take to much time to make on a school night. Sometimes if I know we need to use something that is in the freezer, say ground beef I would make a stir-fry with it. This helps you gradually clean out your freezer or refrigerator so it won’t become super cluttery and full. I take a piece of paper and number at least eight meals. I write down what it is and what we are having with it. I don’t write a specific date down so that way I can pick and choose what we want to have each night. At the very bottom of my paper I put down the words, “This and That”, meaning extra things that I will be making that are not actual meals. For example it could be fudge of some kind. I also put where I can find the recipe at. Such as: Paprika, Cooking Light Magazine, or Pinterest. I have a special board on pinterest that I can go to, to see all the recipes at once! I’d recommend this if your a pinner like me!

Image

Image

Thirdly I go back and look at all of my recipes and right down the ingredients I need for each one. I tend to know what is in the refrigerator and the pantry but if you’re not so sure yourself I’d advise that you look. I basically stay organized by writing out what I need to do. Whenever my dad goes to the grocery store I clean out all of the old things in the fridge and the cabinet that are out of date or to old to eat. This helps prevent any messes and clears up space for the new food that you bought. If you’re like me you will do just about anything to stay organized. I hope this post has helped you in various ways. Let me know what you think in the comments below! Much love, Brianna.

One thought on “Meal Planning 101

Leave a Reply

