In My Heart

  I knew a man who was a godly example to everyone around him. He had a smile that you would just smile with him. His laugh would make you laugh. He cared about you and everyone whether they believed in God or not. This man I knew was my uncle. This Sunday my uncle passed away while trying to help someone. There had been a car crash due to the weather conditions and he had gone out to help them. There was a bus who came up on him and hit him, he died instantly. This man died trying to care and save another persons life. He was that kind of person. 

Image

  I have some memories of times with him but defiantly not enough memories. I remember Thanksgiving with him and my aunt. I remember him joking about how he would need to run off that extra piece of pie. Oh how he loved dessert. On Thanksgiving you could catch him sneaking one last extra piece of pie in or that rich Milky Way Cake that my grandma makes every year. He loved to share God’s word with everyone around him and he brought joy to anyone who came into contact with him. He was so supportive when I ran cross country. Every time my dad would post a picture of me running I would soon later see his comment. “How’d you do?, Keep Running! Great job, I’m proud of you!”. It would make me feel great and smile every time I would see it. I remember going to church with them once and he preached a lesson. I was young at the time and don’t remember what it was about but he touched many people’s life’s doing the job that he did. 

 This tragedy has a made me realize how short life is and that you shouldn’t take it for granted. You should be thankful for every breath that you take and every moment that you are alive and well. Don’t take life for granted, live every second of it. 

 My uncle was a great man. He should never be forgotten. Correction, he will never be forgotten. Family and friends will still remember his in days to come because of the outlook he had on life and his loving, caring, funny spirit and soul that he had. He is in a better place and his pain is no more. Please remember my aunt and family in your prayers is this time of sorrow. Much love, Briana. 

Image

 In loving memory of Rodney James Carroll (1952-2014)

  

Leave a Reply

