Serendipity Saturdays: On Aggressively Seeking Beauty in Life.

20140614-191054-69054562.jpg

So I’m starting this new thing on my blog called, ‘Serendipity Saturday’. Basically I’ll be talking about different topics that I’ve been inspired by and hopefully it will inspire you in your everyday life. I chose the word serendipity because of it meaning;

ser·en·dip·i·ty
ˌserənˈdipitē/
noun
noun: serendipity; plural noun: serendipities
  1. the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way.
    “a fortunate stroke of serendipity”
     
    It also has a way of rolling off the tongue and it sounds pretty. Today I will be talking about how I am aggressively seeking beauty in life.
     So this concept was newly introduced to me when my Wednesday night teacher at church encouraged us to go throughout our daily lives and, “aggressively seek beauty”. I am absolutely in love with this concept and it helps me look at my life differently.
    Seeking beauty in my life at first was a little hard. I was looking so hard but not finding anything. BUT then when I wasn’t trying to seek beauty it came to me. It was in the little way and in the little things.
    I seeked beauty in nature. The beautiful sunsets and sunrises. The way the birds chirped and the way the air felt on my skin. I found it in things. Watching a movie that was inspiring, reading a book, in quotes, photography, cooking food. I also found it in people. The way they live their life or the way they act. The kindness of their words and their gestures to others.
    Seeking beauty to me at first seemed like an absolute hard concept. But then when I didn’t try to seek it, it came to me instantly and it has made my life enjoyable and I take time to enjoy the little things.
    I find beauty in doing the things that I love. Cooking, photography, and writing. I have been finding beauty in my friends. How much they support me and how I can keep going because of them.
    I want to thank Hannah Perry for introducing me to the concept of looking at daily life as a blessing. It has changed by life tremulously and I am better for it today!
     Try looking for beauty in your life and leave a comment telling me how you found it! Much love, Brianna.
Leave a Reply

