Aloha Summer! Part 2


If you missed my last post you may be slightly confused. If you haven’t read Aloha Summer! Part 1 go check it out so you’ll be all caught up on my adventures on day one of my road trip to OKC. For all reading: This post was written about June 5th and June 6th 2016.

June 5th- Breakfast was Blueberry Lemon Bread with Hot Chocolate. My grandma made the bread and it was oh so good! We left for church at Memorial Road Church of Christ after breakfast and enjoyed a phenomenal service and lesson about how our best future comes from our deepest conviction.


The service started at 8:15 and ended around 9:20 so we had the rest of the day to ourselves. We decided to go to the Oklahoma City Zoo. The weather was perfect because it was early day with a slight breeze but nice and sunny. I hadn’t been to the zoo in quite some time. I’d say 5 to 6 years have passed since I’ve been. I enjoyed seeing all the different kinds of animals. I especially got a kick out of a rhinoceros who was banging his head against the door to where he goes in and out of. I think he might of been just a little ready to get outside…(read that sentence with sarcasm).


We spent about 2 1/2 hours at the zoo and half of that was walking around in the same places we had already been. I think I’m directionally challenged. 

Hungry, we traveled to Arcadia where Pops is. If you don’t know what Pops is let me inform you. Pops is built pretty much in the middle of no where on Route 66. They have over 700 different kinds of sodas to choose from such as: Bacon Cream Soda, Butterscotch Root beer, and Peach Soda. It’s also a restaurant and a gas station. On the outside there is a HUGE pop bottle and at night it lights up into different colors! I enjoyed their Arcadia Burger which had bleu cheese, bacon, chiplote mayo, and I subbed turkey for beef.

 Just down the road from Pops is a big red round barn. It was built-in 1898 and was just something fun to go see. Going up to the top story however was a little daunting. The ceiling felt like a hundred stories tall!


Gradually we started running out of things to do (or things we knew to do), but we decided to stop in at the Paseo Arts District. Most of the shops were closed but they had a few art gallery’s open. The art inside was absolutely breathtaking and made me wish I could paint like the artists who did the paintings.


If you live in Oklahoma you might be aware of the different types of statues located in each town. In Muskogee there are painted guitars placed in various places. Tulsa has penguins (I have no idea why penguins…we don’t live in Antarctica). Oklahoma City has painted buffalos. So we set out on a quest to find as many as we could. We weren’t as successful as we hoped but we did find a few and I thought it was cool that each one had a different meaning behind it. I looked up the “Buffalo Project” for the locations but sadly they weren’t as accurate as I thought they would be. Nevertheless I enjoyed snapping some pictures of the ones we did find!


Being pretty tiried we decided to pick up dinner downtown at a place called Guyutes. Their little slogan is something along the lines of: fancied up street food. I got a salad which had roasted chickpeas, cranberries, feta cheese, and a house vinaigrette dressing. We had planned on watching the sunset at Lake Hefner but felt WAY to tired to stick it out. Back at my grandparents house we ate dinner and swam and then of course went to sleep instantly!


June 6th-

Last day of our trip *insert sad face here*. Sleeping in was the best decision we made, and so was eating at Big Truck Tacos for breakfast before we hit the road. When I saw the name “Big Truck Tacos” I thought it would be a food truck. What we pulled up to almost looked like and old sonic redone. There were places to eat on the inside and the food was delicious! I got the Big Truck Burrito Bowl which had: eggs, potatoes, chorizo, and spices! Defienetly recommend going if you’re ever in the area.


Hitting some more landmarks on Route 66 we stopped to see the Golden Driller in Tulsa which was built 50 years ago! The Blue Whale of Catoosa was another stop. The Blue Whale was a gift built by a man for his wife as an anniversary present. It was built-in a pond and took over 2 years to do. There were slides with running water down them and a diving board off the top. Back in the day they hauled in sand and it was a popular family destination. Now it’s more of just a landmark however you can still fish at the pond.


Last stop: lunch of course. Nothing special really just some Panera Bread and funny conversations about being half out of it.


 All in all it was a great road trip. We saw it all, made lots of fun memories, and ate our way through Oklahoma. Much love, Brianna.

2 thoughts on “Aloha Summer! Part 2

Leave a Reply

