Smoky Mountains: Day Eight

This post was written about July 5th, 2016. To see the rest of my series check out below (as this is the last one!)

Locations: Bryson City, NC


More Blueberry Ego Waffles were apart of today’s breakfast. To fancy it up I put Strawberry Cream Cheese, Strawberries, Bananas, and Blueberries on top. We hung around the house for about 2 hours until it was time to go…..Zip-lining! When we ate breakfast outside the mountains were showing with just a bit of clouds. About an hour later it started to rain and you couldn’t anything but the mountain close to us! It was crazy how it could change so fast!


Off to Zip-lining we went around 11:30. We were supposed to start at 12:30 but since of the rain and lightning  we waited about an extra hour (so worth it though!) Once the lightning  and rain cleared we suited up or geared up (you choose) to head out! I got a helmet with a GoPro mount so I could capture all the action and I am so glad I did! I was hesitant at first, not wanting to lose my expensive camera but all was well. We chose Nantahala Gorge Canopy Tours to do our zip-lining at and they did a great job! They explained what you needed to do and let you practice, kept it fun on the course, and most of all kept everyone safe. Shout out to our 3 leaders: Barrett, Trae, and Kenneth!


When we first started on the course I was pretty nervous. When zip-lining you have the brake when you get about 3/4 of the way through. Getting the hang of it was not too bad though I did hit my legs on a platform my first time…(I have a bruise now). It was fun being high up and going fast down the lines. There were 13 lines and it took about 3 hours to complete. Also you MUST watch the video below because “GoPro is insane!!”

After zip-lining we came back into Bryson City for a sweet treat. Not having lunch I treated myself to a White Chocolate Caramel Apple (best ever!) at The Chocolate Shoppe and Ice Creamery. Before heading back to clean up we made reservation at The Cork & Bean in town for 6 so we would ensure ourselves a table.


The Cork & Bean for dinner was the best food EVER! The Cork & Bean is inside of an old hotel and the atmosphere is very inviting. To start our dinner off we ordered the Roasted Brussel Sprouts with bacon, sweet onions, shaved parmesan, and garlic aoili. The garlic aoili made the dish well-rounded with the right about of roasted with non-roasted ingredients. I got the Southwest Turkey Crepe which had Smoked Gouda, Avocado, Turkey, and Salsa. (have to try to remake it at home!). Both of my parents got The Duck & Andouille Etouffee which was something like a Cajun dish. For dessert my parents ordered the Lavender Crème Brûlée. For the longest time I’ve being seeing a coffee drink called a ‘Flat White’ around Instagram and Snapchat. I tried a Hazelnut Flat White out and it was so good! The only difference I can tell between that and a regular latte is that it’s not as strong. My brother got a Mocha Frappchunio (I think he swears by getting one of these any coffee place he goes).


Our last night at the house we watched the sunset and played some more cards.


This trip has let me experience lots of amazing views, try new things, eat lots of good food, and enjoy time with my family. Thank you to everyone who read my series Smoky Mountains! Stay tuned for more blog posts soon. Much love, Brianna.

3 thoughts on “Smoky Mountains: Day Eight

Leave a Reply

