San Francisco: Day Three

This post was written about May 25th, 2017.

Locations: San Francisco, CA.

Day Three coming at you live from San Francisco, California! Today was full of lots of different food, more walking, and a ton of pictures.


Yesterday when we went down to Fisherman’s Wharf we picked up some bread for breakfast at Boudin’s Bakery. I had my bread this morning with jelly and strawberries and french press coffee of course!


Our Lyft ride was supposed to arrive at 8:30 a.m. and while we were waiting outside my Dad soon realized that he had ordered a Lyft for 8:30 p.m. With that being said we’re off to a little late start getting to downtown San Fran.


We made it just in time for the boarding of the “cruise” to Alcatraz. The boat left the port at 9:30 and we made it there at 9:20. Once we got on the island we trekked up to the top where we picked up a self-guided audio tour. That tour lasted about 45 minutes and gave a whole history of Alcatraz.


For those of you who don’t know; Alcatraz was a federal petitionary back in the 30’s-60’s. It is famously known for housing Al Capone and many other criminals. Another key fact about Alcatraz is that since it is on an island it was quite hard to escape. But in the 1940’s, a few prisoners managed to escape and they were never to be seen again. Some personal items were found like a raft made out of coats but other than that they remain unfound. I definitely recommend going out to Alcatraz even if you don’t want a whole history lesson! It’s a once in a lifetime experience and the views of the city from the island are amazing!



Once we got back to San Francisco we walked some more to the Little Italy district. We stopped for lunch at Tony’s Pizza (a recommendation from our Lyft driver from the day before). My mom and I ordered The Honey Pie. It had honey as the base with some spicy peppers, fried caramelized onions, and shaved parmesan cheese. My brother and dad ordered The Americano which had lots of meats and vegetable on it. If you’re in the mood to try something different and new; I would recommend The Honey Pie.



When I researched San Francisco one thing I read about was Coit Tower and the fantastic views it gives of the city. I thought it was free but it was actually $8 for adults and $5 for children. If you feel like spending the money, go for it! The views definitely pay for themselves and you won’t experience the whole city any other way.



Chinatown was our next stop. I wasn’t sure if I would like it or not but once we got there it was quite fun to experience all the different things Chinatown has to offer. We stopped in a lot of stores just looking at the various things they had. I had fun trying out hats and taking photos.


One stop that we made was a place called Dragon Papas. They make Dragon Beard Candy which is actually quite interesting! They spin molasses out until it because white and string like and then they fill it with a nut mixture. When you eat it, it starts to turn chewy in your mouth. It’s very messy but fun to eat!


We walked out of Chinatown and went to Union Square next. Union Square is like Utica Square in Tulsa for you Oklahomans out there. But what I was most excited for was the painted hearts. They had an abstract one, a golden gate bridge one, and a Chinatown one. I really appreciate things like that and I got super excited when I realized there was more than one.


From there we went back to Chinatown for dinner. We found a hole in the wall called Chef Hung’s and I ordered pot stickers. They were delicious and just what I needed after a long day. After dinner, we Lyfted our way home and called it a day!


I can’t wait to share more with you tomorrow! I’ll be here at the same place! Much love, Brianna.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

